#1 Bare Bright Copper Wire
$3.19/lb
Average for 30 days
#1 Copper Tubing
$2.94/lb
Average for 30 days
Steel BX
$0.39/lb
Average for 30 days
Brass Shells
$1.79/lb
Average for 30 days
Cast Iron
$196.94/ton
Average for 30 days
Stainless Steel
$0.29/lb
Average for 30 days
VIEW PRICES

Florida Scrap Metal Laws

Like every state, Florida has special payment restrictions that every scrap metal dealer should be familiar with. An important detail – when accepting scrap metal, it is necessary to take the seller’s fingerprints, as well as provide video surveillance with the ability to track the date, time of receipt and weight of the accepted scrap metal.

So, more about the rules:

  1. When accepting scrap metal, each customer’s driver’s license, ID, consulate ID or passport must be scanned and kept on file.
  2. Each item/purchase must have a picture taken at the time of weighing.
  3. Florida state regulations require that a photo of customers’ faces be saved at the time of payout.
  4. Florida requires notifying law enforcement when purchasing certain materials. For example, any item that has a serial number must be entered into the Department of Law Enforcement’s stolen items database to determine if it is stolen. Remember, if your purchase involves a beer keg, the seller must provide written documentation from the manufacturer that you are the owner of the keg!
  5. Scrap metal recyclers must keep records of all purchases for at least three years and are subject to inspection by any law enforcement agency at any time.

These were the most important rules you should be aware of if you want to sell your scrap metal in Florida. These laws are quite lenient for both the seller and the scrap yards. We’ve gone over the laws and summed up everything you need to know when it comes to selling scrap metal in Florida.

Share to friends
Adblock
detector